How To Reset Windows 10 – Windows 10 Reset

Windows 10 has a reset option that enables its users to return Windows 10 to its original state without having any risks of losing your precious data and files. You can back up all your files including images, videos, music, documents, and personal files. You will retail accounts, personal files, and personal settings.

Reset Windows 10

Once you reset Windows 10, it erases all the data on your hard drives. It means that you will lose whatever files you have stored in the process, as the PC requires formatting hard drives to reinstall windows 10 Operating system. At the end of the process, nothing remains on your hard drives expect a fresh factory reset Windows 10 install.

As a genuine recommendation, you must not reset Windows 10 unless it is utterly important, or when you want to wipe out everything from your PC. You might want to know how to reset Windows 10, as it is the least invasive reset option to resolve issues related to slowing down PC, viruses or infected data.

Why do you need to reset Windows 10?

As we have learned through our long-standing experience of working with Windows PC, this latest version of Windows 10 is equipped with robust features and tools to resolve issues that might result in compromising the performance of your PC. However, there are times when it requires a manual intervention of technicians and a good chunk of money on repair works.

This new set of recovery tools in Microsoft’s operating system allows users to resolve much of the issue by using some basic instructions. Unfortunately, not all work in the expected way and there is some new options at your disposal, too.

That’s when a reset Windows 10 option comes to rescue your PC from emerging issues.  It allows you to rewind your Windows installation to an earlier working state. It helps you to:

  • Remove OEM bloatware
  • Remove user bloat
  • Provides space for Windows update
  • Removes infected and error files, viruses and malware threats.
  • Restores the overall performance of your PC

Additionally, reset Windows 10 is also a great option if you want to transfer the ownership of your computer or are selling your PC. You cannot take the risk of getting your data and personal stuff to be misused by the new owner.

How to reset Windows 10 on your PC?

Explore the steps to reset Windows 10 and give your PC a new life:

Get Started:

  1. Go to the “Start Menu” tab located at the bottom left corner of your PC and click it
  2. Go to the “Settings”
  3. Select “Update and Security” option in the “Settings”
  4. Click the “Recovery” tab from the main menu
  5. Under the “Reset this PC”, select “Get Started” option to launch the process to reset Windows 10
  6. In this step, you will be prompted to either choose an option to “keep your files” or just “Remove everything” from your PC.
    • If you choose to keep your files, then it will keep your personal files intact in the hard drive and removes everything else including software, programs, apps, drivers installed in your PC. Also, it removes changes to settings.
    • If you choose to “Remove everything”, this will clean your hard drive by removing all your personal files, apps and settings as well as reset Windows 10.
  7. If you click “Keep my files” tab, then a display prompt will appear on screen.
  8. Click “Next” to confirm that you understand you will reinstall the apps and software after the reset.
  9. Click “Next”
  10. Press the “Reset” tab to confirm that you want to reset Windows 10
    • Please note that the above-mentioned step is irrevocable, and cannot be reversed. So better, think twice before pressing the “Reset” tab, as it will remove all your apps, data, files, and settings.

As soon as the reset process is complete, the Windows PC will automatically restart, and the reset process will take place through the system restore function.

Remember that you have selected “Keep My Files” which means Windows 10 will save your personal files before executing the reset process. Everything will be kept safe except the apps and settings that will be removed, and you will need to install them manually once the rest is done.